Saturday, May 25, 2019
sportsTop News

Harbhajan Singh Slams Selectors for Not Including This Cricketer In The West Indies Series



In the recently-concluded series, India won the last ball thriller to clinch the seventh Asia Cup series, on Friday. While there have been a lot of positives to take from series, one of them is definitely Rohit’s Sharma’s form.

Keeping in mind India’s consistently struggling middle order in Tests, the selection committee had to make important calls, looking ahead at the upcoming series against West Indies. With Ajinkya Rahane not been in the best of form and Hardik Pandeya not in the side due to his injury, former Indian spinner seems confused as to why Rohit is not included in the two test match series against West Indies. Keeping in the mind the number of runs the hit-man has scored over the past one year and his record against the West Indies, the former spinner was expecting Rohit’s name in the squad.


Harbhajan Singh took to Twitter to express his displeasure over the selection. “No @ImRo45 in test team against West Indies..what r the selectors thinking actually??? Anyone have a clue ??? plz let me know as I can’t digest this.” He wrote.

Former Captain Sourav Ganguli also praised the “hitman” for his performance in the Asia Cup. He took to Twitter to praise the batsman and also expressed surprise at committee for not including Rohit in the series against West Indies. “Great win Rohit and the Team @ImRo45… u were exceptional…I get surprised every time I don’t see your name in the test team…it’s not far away.” He wrote.

Rohit Sharma was the second highest run-getter in the series with 317 runs. Shikhar Dhawan topped the chart with 342 runs in the series. Veterans from around the globe lauded Rohit’s captaincy in the Asia Cup where India emerged victorious after winning the final against Bangladesh.

India Squad for Test series against West Indies:  Virat Kohli (C), KL Rahul, Prithvi Shaw, Mayank Agarwal, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane (VC), Hanuma Vihari, Rishabh Pant (WK), R Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav, Mohammed Siraj, Shardul Thakur



Leave a Response